24/05/18 (Sat) v 20:00


The Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia from Rome returns to the Prague Spring after a period of five years. On this occasion, they will be led by the most respected Czech conductor on the contemporary scene, Jakub Hrůša, who holds the prestigious post of Principal Guest Conductor of the orchestra based in the Italian capital. “We will witness a special interlacing of various cultures,” Hrůša informs us. “During the first half of the 20th century important European composers moved to America in order to find refuge and a place where they could work peacefully and find success – something which, for one reason or another, their native continent was not able to provide. Gershwin, on the other hand, drew inspiration from Europe (in France) and, equipped with knowledge of its best traditions, he became the founder of novel and authentic American music in his own country. In this wonderful programme we are hence bringing together the Czech environment, Italy, Russia, France and the United States of America.”



  • Bohuslav Martinů: The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca H 352
  • George Gershwin: Concerto in F
  • Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances Op. 45


  • Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia Roma
  • Jakub Hrůša - conductor
  • Kirill Gerstein - piano